St. George DUI Attorneys
Fighting Back against DUI & DWI Charges
In March of 2017, the State of Utah lowered the maximum blood alcohol limit for drivers from .08% to .05%, making it the strictest DUI state in the nation. The American Beverage Institute estimates that a 120-pound woman can reach .05% with little more than one drink. Park Law Firm encourages all drivers to be vigilant about monitoring their alcohol consumption before getting behind the wheel. If you think there is a chance you might be considered legally impaired, make arrangements to get a ride with a sober driver or call a cab.
If you have been charged with a DUI, you can count on our St. George DWI attorneys to build a strong defense on your behalf. With over 50 years of combined experience, we know how to anticipate the prosecution’s case to ensure high-quality, results-driven representation.
To get started on your case, contact us online or call (435) 222-5869. Your initial consultation is free and confidential.
DUI Arrests in Utah
First-time DUI offenders in Utah receive a mandatory jail sentence of at least two days. In some cases, this sentence can be served in the form of a work service program.
Other alternative sentences available for certain offenders may include:
- Home confinement
- Electronic monitoring
- Strict probation terms
In addition to jail time, first-time DUI offenders are fined $700. This does not include any expenses relating to completing the terms of the sentence. Some of these expenses involve education programs, the cost of reinstating a driver’s license, or home monitoring programs.
If you are arrested for DUI, your driver’s license is immediately confiscated. The arresting officer issues a citation that expires 29 days from the arrest. This is called a Per-se arrest. You must also submit a Hearing Request Form within 10 days. Failure to do so will result in your driver’s license being suspended by the Driver License Division.
Refusing Chemical Tests
If you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI, you have a right to refuse chemical tests or a breathalyzer. However, failure to comply with such tests has strict consequences, which involve losing your driver’s license.
Convicted drivers under 21 years of age will lose their license for two years or until their 21st birthday. Convicted drivers over the age of 21 will lose their license for 18 months if it’s a first offense or for two years if it’s a second offense.
Drivers under the age of 21 in Utah are subject to Not-a-Drop penalties. This law makes it illegal for drivers under the age of 21 to have any measurable amount of alcohol in their systems. Jail times vary for Not-a-Drop arrests.
If you are 19 to 20 years old:
- 1st offense for a Not-a-Drop arrest: Six months
- 1st offense Per-Se arrest: Six months
If you are under 19 years old:
- 1st offense Not-a-Drop arrest: One year
- 1st offense Per-se arrest: Two years
Not-a-Drop arrests require an assessment by a substance abuse program, which then recommends when a driver’s license can be reinstated.
Each case is different, but DUI convictions carry a number of penalties that can significantly impact both you and your family.
Penalties may include:
- Jail time
- Fines plus court costs
- Suspended driver’s license
- Drug or alcohol treatment
- Community service
- Impounded vehicle fees
- Mandatory interlock devices and associated fees
It is up to the court to decide the exact nature of these penalties. The court will take into consideration previous arrest records and the circumstances of the DUI arrest.
DUI Vehicle Impounds
Drivers arrested for DUI in Utah should expect their vehicles to be impounded. The driver has 30 days to pay a $350 impound fee before the vehicle is legal to drive again.
To get a vehicle released from impound, you must provide:
- Photo identification
- Proof of vehicle registration
- Vehicle Impound Report provided by the arresting officer
- Payment of the $350 fee
If you have been convicted of DUI or have your driver’s license sanctioned by refusing a chemical test or breathalyzer, you automatically become an alcohol-restricted driver. This means you are prohibited from driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, even if it is under the legal limit. The length of this restriction is determined by the court. If you violate the conditions of this restriction, your license will be revoked for one year.
To request a free consultation with our St. George criminal defense attorneys, please call (435) 222-5869.